

State Laws Prohibiting Smoking in Public Places and Workplaces

Last Updated September 1, 2014; updated as information changes

State Laws Prohibiting Smoking in State and Local Government Buildings (36 + DC)

Arizona	Arkansas	California	Colorado
Connecticut	Delaware	District of Columbia	Florida
Georgia	Hawaii	Idaho	Illinois
lowa	Indiana	Kansas	Louisiana
Maine	Maryland	Massachusetts	Michigan
Montana	Nebraska	Nevada	New Jersey
New Mexico	New York	North Dakota	Ohio
Oregon	Pennsylvania	Rhode Island	South Dakota
Tennessee	Utah	Vermont	Washington
Wisconsin			

State Laws Prohibiting Smoking in Private Workplaces, not including Restaurants or Bars (28 + DC)

Arizona Hawaii Kansas Massachusetts Nevada Ohio South Dakota Wisconsin Delaware Illinois Louisiana Michigan New Jersey Oregon Utah District of Columbia Indiana Maine Montana New York Pennsylvania Vermont Florida Iowa Maryland Nebraska North Dakota Rhode Island Washington

State Laws Prohibiting Smoking in Restaurants (32 + DC)

Colorado

Arizona District of Columbia Illinois Maine Minnesota New Jersey North Dakota South Dakota Wisconsin

Florida Iowa Maryland Montana New Mexico Ohio Utah Connecticut Hawaii Kansas Massachusetts Nebraska New York Oregon Vermont Delaware Idaho Louisiana Michigan New Hampshire North Carolina Rhode Island Washington

State Laws Prohibiting Smoking in Stand-Alone Bars (29 + DC)

Arizona District of Columbia Kansas Michigan New Hampshire North Carolina Rhode Island Washington Colorado Hawaii Maine Minnesota New Jersey North Dakota South Dakota Wisconsin

Connecticut Illinois Maryland Montana New Mexico Ohio Utah Delaware Iowa Massachusetts Nebraska New York Oregon Vermont